Home / Works / Piano 4

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Piano 4

Cançó i Dansa núm. 13 / Cançó i Dansa núm. 15 «Pastoral»


MOMPOU, Frederic

Reg.: B.4042

18,70 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Ensemble: Solo.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Solos.
  • Language: Cast/Cat/English
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Intermediate
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Frederic Mompou
  • No. of pages: 28
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • ISBN: 978-84-17199-63-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-4127-4
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

Frederic Mompou’s collection of fifteen Songs and Dances is indisputably among the composer’s most important works, and one of the most widely known and most popular.

The two pieces we are concerned with here happen to be the only ones in the collection that were not written originally for piano. They are, in fact, the least performed and least known of the collection composed by Mompou. As he wrote mainly for piano, these works faded into the background, reaching a much narrower audience owing to their instrumentation, unusual in the composer.

Song and Dance No. 13 was written specially for guitarist Narciso Yepes in 1972 and published by EMEC in 1986. Yepes himself recorded it with the label Deutsche Grammophon. This piece is based on two well-known Catalan folk themes: The Song of the Birds and The Good Hunter.

Song and Dance No. 15, also known as «Pastoral», is not based on folk tunes; rather, the thematic material is the composer’s own, and is one of the few works Mompou wrote for organ (for the sake of reference, there is the For the Advent Season, also published by Boileau). This work was also written in 1972, and performed for the first time in 1973 at the concert given by Montserrat Torrent on the occasion of the restoration of the organ of the Palau de la Música Catalana, together with other premiered works by Catalan composers. Mompou also dedicated it to her. It was published by EMEC in 1984.

This version and revision is the work of the specialist and profesor Antoni Besses, who received the composer’s approval and has recorded numerous works both by Mompou and by his inseparable friend Manuel Blancafort. The partnership between the publishers and this pianist is a long one: it was he who revised most of Blancafort’s works for solo piano that have been published by Boileau, and he is the author of teaching and concert works also published by the firm. Convinced of the value of Besses’ adaptation for piano of these works by Mompou, we have resolved to go ahead with the publication of these two key pieces of the Catalan musical repertoire of the 20th century.

1. Frederic Mompou, biographical notes
2. Criteria for the publication
3. Introduction to the work
​4. Scores:

  • Cançó i Dansa 13
  • Cançó i Dansa 15 «Pastoral»