Home / Works / Orquestra de corda

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Orquestra de corda

Partitura del director y parte de violonchelo solista

Orquesta de cuerda


Reg.: BC0016

25,00 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Review: CASALS ISTOMIN, Marta
  • Ensemble: String orchestra: With soloist(s); .
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Arrangements and Transcripts; Chamber.
    Folk music / traditional: Popular songbook.
  • Language of the comment: Spanish, Catalan, English
  • Product format: Partitura + particella solista
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 1st half S. XX
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Pau Casals
  • No. of pages: 76
  • Measure: 31,00 x 22,60 cm
  • Lenght: 22'
  • ISBN: 978-84-15381-53-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-3585-3
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

0 0 0 0 — 0 0 0 0 — str

Extended version of QUARTET IN E MINOR
0 0 0 0 — 0 0 0 0 — str

Solo Violoncello
0 0 0 0 — 0 0 0 0 — str


During his early studies at the Escola Municipal de Música de Barcelona [Municipal Music School of Barcelona], Pau Casals studied cello with Josep Garcia and composition with Josep Rodoreda, the composer of Virolai, based on a text by Mn. Cinto Verdaguer, which was sung regularly in Montserrat. In order to earn money, in 1889 Casals began to play every day at the Cafè Tost in Barcelona. Cafè Tost was the meeting place for the literary, musical and political elite of the city, which gave Casals an introduction to this world. In 1891, at the age of 15, he met Enrique Granados and they began a life-long friendship and a successful musical collaboration. Two years later he completed his studies at the Escola Municipal and travelled to Madrid with his mother and brothers and sisters. 

It was in this period of musical discovery that Casals wrote the greatest part of his works which are still little known. Some of these works are quite important, such as the Balada and the Allegro in F sharp Minor for piano and the Pastoral for cello and piano as well as the Missa de Glòria. 

Two of his works for strings, included in this book, also date from this same period: Minuet (1892) and the Quartet in E Minor (1893). Although not well-known, these compositions are nevertheless important works in his catalogue.

Pau Casals, apunt biogràfic 
Pau Casals, biographical notes 
Pau Casals, apunte biográfico 
Criteri de l’edició
Criteria for the publication
Criterio de la edición
Criteri de la documentació i catalogació
Documentation and cataloguing criteria
Criterio de la documentación y catalogación
Introducció a l’obra
Introduction to the work
Introducción a la obra
Partitures / Scores / Partituras
Minuet - (Orquestra de corda / String Orchestra / Orquesta de cuerda)
Versió ampliada del / Extended version of the / Versión ampliada del Quartet en Mi menor (in E minor) - (Orquestra de corda / String Orchestra / Orquesta de cuerda)
El cant dels ocells - (Violoncel i orquestra de corda / Cello and String Orchestra / Violonchelo y Orquesta de cuerda)