Home / Works / Obras de cámara con violín

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Obras de cámara con violín

Chamber Works with Violin / Obres de cambra amb violí

Violín y Piano


Reg.: B.3534

19,80 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Review: McCLURE, Mac
  • Ensemble: Duos: With piano.
    Trios: With piano.
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Chamber.
  • Product format: Partitura + particellas
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: Romanticism
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XXI
  • No. of pages: 32+16
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-3668-3
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

The chamber music repertoire by Enrique Granados has not received the attention that it deserves for many years. A great part of his works for chamber ensembles is still unpublished today and the few existing editions are hardly faithful to the original manuscripts. This situation has caused his violin and piano works to be the least known of his compositions with the exception of his choral or orchestral works. This publication hopes to change this situation. Based on manuscripts preserved in the Barcelona Music Museum and the National Library of Catalonia this edition has been prepared to include almost this entire catalogue of works for violin and piano. Nevertheless, one work, the Sonata for violin and piano, is published separately due to its importance and scope.
This volume opens with Three Preludes, brief composition titled: «La góndola [The Gondola]», «Toque de guerra [Call to War]» y «Elevación [Elevation]». These works reveal the apparent simplicity of musical language that Granados combined with his characteristic originality in three short evocative pieces. The date of composition is not known. The manuscript of these preludes was preserved in the archive of Granados´ daughter, Natalia. They were not premiered until the 1970´s by violinist Xavier Turull and pianist Rosa Sabater in a concert at the French Institute in Barcelona. 
The following work is the Romance in E Flat Major, a rhapsodic work in ¾ time. In the middle of the work Granados included a special technical difficulty: turing the 4th string in G Flat in order to be able to play a note a half step lower than normal. In this edition we suggest a more practical solution, without having two violins, one tuned to G and the other to G Flat or having to play the entire work scordatura—simply perform that lowest notes an octave higher than they are written. This work was dedicated to Lauro Clariana, a professor of Mathamatics at the University of Barcelona and a member of the Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences of Barcelona. The newspaper, La Vanguardia, said of him: «[…] But Dr. Clariana was not only a mathematician. He combined this difficult profession with also being a musician and became an well-regarded violinist».
The final work is the Serenade for Two Violins and Piano. There are two manuscripts of this work: an incomplete manuscript of the score which is missing five measures, and another of the two violin parts which is complete. In this edition the Serenade follows the original manuscript of the violin parts with the addition of the five missing measures for the piano. These measures have been completed based on the thematic material of the opening of the work.


Tres preludios: - La góndola - El toque de guerra - Elevación Romanza en Mi bemol Mayor Serenata para dos violines y piano