Home / Works / Natura contra Natura

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Natura contra Natura

Partitura general

Orquesta sinfónica


Reg.: B.3627

31,80 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Ensemble: Symphonic orchestra: .
  • Genres: Classical / contemporary: Symphonic.
  • Language: Español / Castellano
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XXI
  • No. of pages: 124
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 30'
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-3512-9
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: Yes

3[1.2.pic] 2 3[1.2.bcl] 3[1.2.bcn] — 4 3 3 1 — tmp+3 — cel — hp — str
perc: bd, cym, sd, gong, ttam, tri, wnd mach, thunder, chimes, whip, güiro, woodblk


Natura contra Natura [Nature Against Nature] is one of the most ambitious orchestral works by Jordi Cervelló. The unusual title is intended to highlight the natural and anti-natural qualities of human behavior. Like many works by the composer, this composition has important ethical and moral aspects. The work is divided into three movements: Sons de la natura [Sounds of Nature], Clam [Cry of Lament] and Elegia [Elegy].

In Sons de natura [Sounds of Nature], which has a bucolic and gentle character, the murmurings of Nature are described: vegetation, trees, plants, flowers, streams, storms, and especially the song of birds. The first movement includes highly diverse variations of sounds. For the composition of this movement of Nature Against Nature the composer relied on his important contact with Eloïsa Matheu, a specialist in the sounds of Nature, who has recorded natural sounds throughout the world giving special attention to bird songs. 

Although Jordi Cervelló is not the first composer to use bird songs in his music, he reminds us that many composers have been inspired by them. Those composers who incorporated bird songs into their music were described by Paul Dukas as “great masters”.
The theme of the second movement, Clam [Cry of Lament] is the anti-natural. Here the composer describes human behavior as it struggles against nature. It is clear that this human behavior is odious, egotistical, not respectful of Nature, and that due to this behavior our planet has been gravely damaged with extreme levels of toxins that may be irreversible. This is a very brutal movement. The percussion instruments never stop and the strings play an exasperated and sad lament. It is interesting to read some of Cervelló’s ideas: «Humans do not respect the gifts of Nature which they have exploited without even thinking. In the same manner they also have not respected the lives of animals for the simple reason that since animals are not rational beings, humans think they have no soul. All of this, in addition to the constant extermination of humans in interminable wars and the suffering of the greater part of the world population, has profoundly affected me. The time has come to express my feelings about this problem in music.»

In the final movement of the work, Elegía [Elegy], Cervelló again demonstrates his mastery of highly expressive writing for the strings. This movement is essentially serene and expressive of his immense despair about human lack of responsibility to Nature. However, at the end of the work there is the light of hope

I. Sons de la natura (Adagio. Andante) II. Clam (Introducció. Allegro) III. Elegia (Adagio espressivo)