Home / Works / La sfera d'ametista

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

La sfera d'ametista

Violonchelo y Orquesta sinfónica


Reg.: B.3953

32,00 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Ensemble: Symphonic orchestra: With soloist(s).
  • Genres: Clásica / contemporánea: Sinfónico.
  • Language of the comment: Spanish, Catalan, English
  • Product format: Partitura + particella solista
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 2nd half S. XX - XXI
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Siglo XXI
  • No. of pages: 152+20
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-3992-9
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

I composed this Concerto for cello and orchestra in 2016 and 2017. I wanted to fulfill a dream for the French cellist Romain Garioud, to who the work is dedicated. 

The work has the traditional three movements. The first movement is melodic, dark and mysterious. The second is filled with an anxious rhythmic impulse which concludes with a cadenza for the soloist and the third movement is a happy rondeau which is very direct but has one surprising episode. 

The first movement, «Adagio misterioso», is lyric, serious and also has a certain light timbre. There are three principal themes, the first is presented by a French Horn solo which begins the movement. Later the principal theme is played by the cello. It is both a kindly and expressive in character. The third theme is light yet still kindly and it appears at calm moments. The movement ends with a brief cadenza for the soloist followed by a coda with the note C as the protagonist. 

The second movement, Allegro molto, has a rhythmic impulse and is constantly nervous. The rapid rhythm alternates with moments that are slow, questioning as well as dramatic and dark during which, simultaneously appear three themes or fragments of them. Two crescendos in the orchestra take the movement to its conclusion with a cadenza for the cellist and leads directly into the third movement. 

The last movement, «Allegro giusto», is a happy and dynamic rondeau. It begins with a hesitant rhythm, loud and amusing, which is taken up by the cellist and converted into the main theme. The tutti are blunt and strongly expressive. There is a constant dialogue between the soloist and orchestra. In the middle of the movement there is a moment of repose which is somewhat idyllic during which the cello plays the note G and the Glockenspiel provides a suggestive oriental color. 

Then a long coda begins in which the cellist display varied acrobatics always with a joyous atmosphere.

Jordi Cervelló

- Prefaci / Preface / Prefacio 
- I Adagio 
- II Allegro molto 
- III Veloce 
- Biografia / Biography / Biografía