Home / Works / Goyescas 1

Delivery in 24h-72h (Peninsula work days)

Goyescas 1



Reg.: B.3303

21,00 €
P.V.P. (VAT included 4%) Add to cart

  • Review: LARROCHA, Alicia de
  • Ensemble: Solo.
  • Genres: Clásica / contemporánea: Solos.
  • Product format: Partitura
  • Difficulty level: Advanced-superior
  • Period: 1st half S. XX
  • Publishing house: Editorial Boileau
  • Collection: Enric Granados
  • No. of pages: 80
  • Measure: 31,00 x 23,00 cm
  • Lenght: 25'00"
  • ISBN: 978-84-8020-677-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-3503-0048-6
  • Available in digital: No
  • Available for rent: No

Granados wrote a considerable number of compositions inspired by the paintings of Francisco de Goya, works which reached their culmination in the piano suite entitled Goyescas-Los majos enamorados. The popularity of this suite has led to a common misconception that the term «Goyescas» refers only to those pieces which make up its two parts. In fact, the cycle of Goyescas includes not only the works contained in the suite and the opera of the same name (which generally coincides with the music of the piano suite), but also El pelele and Intermezzo (from the opera Goyescas), both of which are works that are independent from the piano suite. In addition, there is another group of pieces that served as the basis for Goyescas-Los majos enamorados, comprising Jácara, Crepúsculo and Serenata goyesca and the Tonadillas for voice and piano.

Goyescas-Los majos enamorados is a formidable challenge for the performer, given that its complex passagework, elaborate ornamentation and dense texture require a virtuoso level of pianistic technique. Along with Iberia by Isaac Albéniz, Goyescas is the zenith of Spanish piano music.

Jácara (2'48")
Serenata Goyesca (3'35")
El pelele (4'53")
Intermezzo de la ópera "Goyescas" (4'37")